Church of Santa María de Guía

The church of Santa María de Guía is a must-see in the old town. With its beautiful baroque façade and its slender neoclassical towers, it presides over the main environment where the square and the town hall are also located. It was built between the 17th and 19th centuries and inside it contains numerous works of art, including eight carvings by José Luján Pérez, born in Guía in the 18th century and considered the most important sculptor in the history of the Canary Islands and also an architect; among other works, the towers of this church and the façade and choir of the Cathedral of the Canary Islands. Also noteworthy in the church is the organ from the early 20th century, the only Italian organ in the Canary Islands, inaugurated by the famous French composer Camile Saint-Saëns and the 17th-century Genoese image of the Guía Virgin, patron saint of the municipality and to whom miracles are attributed to it, such as ending the locust plague that devastated the region in 1811 and which later gave rise to the traditional and votive Fiesta de Las Marías.
